With the Australian Group I races run and won for the 2014-15 season, Sydney trainer Chris Waller finished the term with a record-breaking 14 Group I wins next to his name.

The tally surpassed John Hawkes’ total of 12 set in the 2002-03 season.

But perhaps the most impressive aspect of Waller’s achievement is that 13 individual horses contributed to his 14 Group I victories with only Brazen Beau winning multiple majors.

Hall of fame trainer Gai Waterhouse finished another successful season with seven winners, including a record-equaling sixth Golden Slipper with Vancouver. Racing’s first lady has trained a minimum of four Group I winners every season since the turn of the century.

Equal with Waterhouse in second is dual-state trainer Peter Moody. Dissident provided Moody with four of his elite level wins, three of which came in Victoria and one in New South Wales. Two more victories were recorded in New South Wales as well as one in South Australia, courtesy of Flamberge’s Goodwood Handicap triumph.

Co-trainers Peter and Paul Snowden completed their first full season with five Group I successes, including a Blue Diamond Stakes and Caulfield Guineas.

John O’Shea’s first full term at the helm of Godolphin was highlighted by the dazzling performances of imports Contributer and Hartnell over the autumn carnival which yielded three Group I wins.

A mention must also go to West Australian trainer Grant Williams, who recorded a trio of Group I races. Delicacy, a sure contender for filly of the season, won two of those Group Is after taking out the Australasian Oaks-South Australian Derby double in May.


Tom Walter