The Geraldton Cup was first run on Thursday, December 8, 1887 and won by Baron Nectar, who travelled by steamer from Albany.
Run over two miles (3200m) and for prize money of $600, Baron Nectar was a brother of Dunlop, who took out that year’s Melbourne Cup.
The 1888 Geraldton Cup meeting, staged over two days, was taken out by Aim, who advanced to take out the Perth Cup and WA Derby a year later.
Wandering Willie, a winner of the 1889 Geraldton Cup, also raced with success in Perth by winning the Perth Cup, Railway Stakes and Queen’s Plate.
The 2008 Geraldton Cup, with a record $70,000 in prize money, marked the 80th anniversary of racing at the Utakarra track.
Local horseman Neil Sinclair held bragging rights when Riding On A Storm, ridden by Peter Farrell, stormed clear of the more fancied runners.
Tapdog, prepared by master trainer, Clive Lauritsen, is the only horse to have won three Geraldton Cups: 2002, 2006 and 2007.
Tapdog, a son of Bletcharm, is one of five horses have won back-to-back Geraldton Cups after Maupeon completed the first in 1923 and 1924.
Cap followed in 1927 & 1928, Hecoelse was successful in in 1971 & 1972 and Royal Hand for Lauritsen in 1974 and 1975.
The only recorded dead-heat in the Geraldton Cup was recorded between Durwitt and Calstock in 1909.
Lauritsen holds the record for most successful Geraldton Cup trainer with seven wins: Royal Hand (74-75), Racaralma (77), Tap Dog (2002-06-07) and Black Amber.
Dennis Gates and Roy McKay share the riding honours with four Geraldton Cup wins.
Gates piloted Degray Boy (1969), Royal Hand (75), Racaralma (77) and Under Control (78).
McKay was aboard Robe River Man (2003), Tapdog (2006-2007) and Black Amber.
Veteran jockey, Danny Miller, won with Top Voltage (1992), Clan West (1997) and completed the treble on Boston Blue (1998).
Alana Williams is the only female to win the Geraldton Cup after she combined with the Kim Anderson-trained Colorado River in 2004.
Jockey-trainer identity Max Ramsay was the first rider to win successive cups: Solerial (1962) Sahara Desert (1963) and created a West Australian first when he rode a horse from his own stable to victory, Little Rick (1970).
Stephen Miller guided The Walrus for Vern Brockman in 1994 and later prepared Great’n’grey in 2012.
Two men have won the Geraldton Cup treble, owning, training and riding a cup winner: George Towton with Carbine (1894) and in 1909 F.Coleman and Durrwitt.
Since 2000 four horses have won the Geraldton Cup from barrier one-the most prolific. Barrier 10 has won on three occasions with two of those victories from Tapdog (2006 & 2007).
Gates three, five, eleven, twelve, thirteen, fourteen and fifteen have not recorded wins in this period.
Only two mares have won the past 15 editions of the Geraldton Cup: Calico Blue (2010) and Black Amber (2009).
RWWA: Julio Santarelli