The Group 1 Winterbottom Stakes headlines day 2 of the Ascot Masters on Saturday.

The race has been won by a host of top line sprinters going back to the races inception in 1952.

Below is an overview of the race.


  • The Winterbottom Stakes has been staged since 1952.
  • WA Racing Hall Of Fame inductee Raconteur won the first edition of the race, trained by Eddie Spencer and ridden by Eric Treffone.
  • Eric Treffone would go on to win a second Winterbottom Stakes, but as a trainer when he prepared Watersan in 1965.
  • The Winterbottom Stakes has held elite Group 1 status since 2011. It was a Group 2 race from 1979 to 2010.
  • From 1952 to 1992 it was run over 1400m. Since 1993 is has been run as a 1200 metre event. In 2003 the race was staged at Belmont Park.
  • There are six dual winners of the Winterbottom Stakes: Asteroid (1953-55), La Trice (1970-71), Belinda’s Star (1975-76), Hardrada (2002-2003), Ortensia (2009-2011) & Buffering (2013-2015).
  • Notable winners include Buffering (2013-15), Raconteur, Nicopolis (1962), Jacks Or Better (2005), Placid Ark (1987), Fimiston (1986), Asian Beau (1979), Miss Andretti (2005) & Takeover Target (2008) & Barakey (2012).


  • Wally Mitchell is the most successful trainer with three winners: Scarlet Gem (1980), Nitro Lad (1982) & Placid Ark (1987).
  • Nine trainers are next with two wins each including current trainers Sharon Miller, Lou Luciani and Jim Taylor.
  • The Mueller family have trained two winners of the Winterbottom Stakes: Brian looked after the preparation of La Trice (1971), his son David joined him on the honour roll when Miss Andretti took it out in 2005.


  • Frank Treen and John Miller share the Winterbottom Stakes record
  • Treen won the first of four aboard Fairflow (1957) and followed up on Big Bob (1963), Copper Son (1964) and Railway Boy (1967).
  • Miller guided On Guard (1960), La Trice (1971), Soldier Of Fortune (1981) & Jungle Mist (1985).
  • Jason Brown rode three winners: Bradson (1998), Barakey (2012) & Magnifisio (2014).
  • Treen was the first jockey to go back-to-back in the Winterbottom.
  • Peter Knuckey Snr won on McHarry (1956); son Peter was successful 44 years later aboard Noble Sky.


  • Geldings have won 14 of the past 20 editions.
  • Mares have been successful on six occasions.
  • The last mare to win: Viddora (2017).
  • Barrier 8 has recorded 5 wins
  • Barrier 13 has been successful four times including 2 out of the past 3 years.
  • Barriers 1, 2 and 5 have won two each.
  • Barriers 3, 11, 14, 15 and 16 have had no wins.


  • 7 winners have won their previous race including Elite Street (2020).
  • 3 have been placed.


  • Ortensia: 1.08.56sec. (2009).


  • Buffering was the previous favourite to win in 2015.
  • Hadabeclorka the longest priced winner at $41.
  • Marasco was sent out at $1.80 in 2006.
Year Horse Jockey Trainer
2020 Elite Street Brad Rawiller Dan Morton
2019 Hey Doc Luke Currie T & C McEvoy
2018 Voodoo Lad Damien Oliver Darren Weir
2017 Viddora Joe Bowditch Lloyd Kennewell
2016 Takedown Tom Clark Gary Moore
2015 Buffering Damian Browne Rob Heathcote
2014 Magnifisio Jason Browne Jim Taylor
2013 Buffering Damian Browne Rob Heathcote
2012 Barakey Jason Brown Jim Taylor
2011 Ortensia Craig Williams Paul Messara
2010 Hadabeclorka William Pike Brent Larsson
2009 Ortensia Craig Williams Tony Noonan
2008 Takeover Target Jay Ford Joe Janiak
2007 Glory Hunter Luca Camilleri Lindsey Smith
2006 Marasco Damian Oliver Fred Kersley
2005 Miss Andretti Kevin Forrester David Mueller
2004 Ellicorsam William Pike Sharon Miller
2003 Hardrada Jason Whiting Lou Luciani
2002 Hardrada Jason Whiting Lou Luciani
2001 Fair Alert Alana Williams Ray Sweetman
2000 Noble Sky Peter Knuckey John Price

 Julio Santarelli