The Group 3 Asian Beau Stakes headlines the Ascot card on Saturday, an important lead-up race in the countdown to the Group 1 $1 million Railway Stakes on November 21.

The Asian Beau Stakes is held in honour of champion sprinter, Asian Beau, who rose to fame in the 1970s with a string of major victories in a distinguished racing career.

The inaugural winner of the Asian Beau Stakes in 1982, a Listed race before moving to Group 3 status in 1999, was Nitro Lad, the first of three winners for, Wally Mitchell.

The experienced trainer later enjoyed success with Future Edition (19991), ridden by Paul Dyson and Bold Extreme (1996), in the hands of Tim Stubberfield.

Mitchell trails Bunbury horseman, Ross Price, by one win as the most successful trainer in the history of the Asian Beau Stakes.

Price holds the record after preparing Power Prince (1987), Medicine Kid (1989), Pago Escort (1992) and Colour Correct (2010).

The most successful jockey of the Asian Beau Stakes is Patrick Carbery who has won the event on five occasions: Classy Dresser (1994), Look Of Success (1997), Umah (1999), Gilded Venom (2008) and Westriver Kevydonn (2012).

Carbery also ran second with Black Heart Bart (2014) and third with Grand Nirvana (2009) and Prince Of Vasac (2004).

Carbery leads his next rival, Shaun O’Donnell, by two with Peter Knuckey, Paul Harvey, Jason Whiting, Troy Jackman, Jason Oliver and Stephen Miller dual winners.

O’Donnell has won three of the past six Asian Beau Stakes after guiding Kasabian (2009), Luckygray (2011) and Balmont Girl (2014).

Alana Williams stands alone as the only female rider to savour Asian Beau Stakes success when she partnered Fair Alert for trainer, Ray Sweetman (2000).

William Pike, the state’s leading rider, has yet to win the Asian Beau Stakes trophy but has gone close with four previous placings: Respondent (2014), Vermeer (2013), Tranquillity (2011) and Wire Detonator (2005).

Williams’ partner, Grant, has been placed twice previously: Respondent (2014) and Tranquillity (2011)

The most successful barrier is gate three with five victories, followed by gates five and seven with four wins apiece.

Barriers one, six and ten have three wins, while gates 14 and 16 are the least successful with no victories.

Mares have won the race for the past two years: Balmont Girl (2014) and Platinum Rocker (2013), but just four times in total, Asian Incline (1993) and Future Edition (1991).

Asian Beau-Railway Stakes champions include Old Fashion, Medicine Kid, Bold Extreme, Willoughby, Gilded Venom and Luckygray.

Bold Extreme (1996), Gilded Venom (2008) and Luckygray (2011) won the Asian Beau Stakes-Railway Stakes double in the same year.

RWWA: Julio Santarelli