The Australian Racing Hall of Fame (ARHOF) was established in 2001 to celebrate the achievements of the horses, jockeys, trainers and administrators who, through their dedication and contribution to thoroughbred racing, have become heroes of the turf.

Induction into the ARHOF is racing’s ultimate achievement and is an opportunity to formally recognise and honour the horses and people who have made such indelible marks in racing.
There are four categories within the Hall of Fame – Horses, Trainers, Jockeys and Associates. The template and assessment criteria for nominations can be found on the Racing Australia website.

“I encourage everyone with a passion for Australian racing to nominate their hero of the turf to join an illustrious honour roll of champions recognised as members of the Australian Racing Hall of Fame. Australian racing is enjoying prosperous times, however, it is our rich history of memorialising the achievements of those whose presence and contribution have made thoroughbred racing in Australia a nation of racing excellence that defines us.” Racing Australia Chairman Greg Nichols said today.

Racing Australia’s ARHOF Selection Panel comprises representatives of the Australian thoroughbred racing industry who are highly respected individuals by their peers. Their selection to the Panel draws on their unique knowledge of racing.

The Chair of the Selection Panel, Brendan Parnell, who is also Chief Executive Officer of Racing Queensland, was appointed in April 2019 and is responsible for overseeing the voting and integrity process.

“In a year where we have lost icons such as Darby McCarthy and Subzero, it’s an exciting time to consider the legacy created by the heroes of racing. We look forward to receiving submissions to join an honour roll of racing’s stars.” Brendan Parnell said.

“It’s an honour to Chair the Australian Racing Hall of Fame Selection Panel and I look forward to receiving the nominations and overseeing the important decisions made in the coming months.” Brendan continued.

The Australian Racing Hall of Fame will be held in Adelaide on Friday, 14th May 2021 and hosted by Thoroughbred Racing South Australia.

Nominations will close on Monday 21 December 2020. To nominate click here.