Battle Looming In Trainer’s Premiership


William Pike is a runaway leader to grab his 10th Perth Jockey’s Premiership, but it’s a much closer contest in the trainers’ title.

A fascinating battle is emerging between defending champions Grant and Alana Williams and six-time winner, Adam Durrant.

With just over two months remaining before the season draws to a close, honours for 2017-18 will certainly go right to the wire.

Just three wins separates the Williams and Durrant stable after the former sneaked ahead with a training treble on Saturday.

Launching a perfect start to the Belmont winter season, team Williams had wins with Galaxy Star, Arcadia Prince and Stageman.

Durrant kept in touch with the husband and wife partnership after At The Ready and Enticing Star bookended the meeting.

Pike equalled a long-standing record and smashed through the century mark when he booted home six winners.

Pike’s sensational haul matched the feat of Hall Of Fame rider, Frank Treen, who set the benchmark in 1967.

Pike and Treen are the only two jockeys in the modern era to have ridden six winners at a Perth meeting.


Grant & Alana Williams 54
Adam Durrant 51
Simon Miller 37.5
Neville Parnham 32
Lindsey Smith 25


William Pike 102
Chris Parnham 45
Jarrad Noske 32
Joe Azzopardi 28
Dan Staeck 27


Tayla Stone 27
Fred Kersley 11
Brodie Kirby 10
Clint Johnston-Porter 09
Kate Witten 08