Darryn Pateman capped an outstanding Broome season when he claimed the Leading Trainer title and his Oratorio gelding, Wise Decision, shared honours in Horse of the Year.

Pateman’s haul of 13 winners included two trebles and three doubles with a trifecta in Saturday’s $20,000 Allure-Pearl Classic (1300m) a season highlight.

Wise Decision brought up his fourth consecutive win in Broome when he led from start to finish to defeat Marcamjo by three lengths with Oneofus third.

Only a short-head second to The Chorister when first up in May prevented the up and coming four-year-old from completing a clean sweep in Broome.

Kyra Yuill’s move to base herself in Broome with the Gulberti stable for the entire season was handsomely rewarded when she won Jockey of the Year.

Yuill rode nine winners including three doubles, one less than Colin Haddon, but she clinched the prize due to her superior place strike rate.

Yuill formed a potent combination with Galaxon, winning the Derby Cup (1800m), the Contracting Cup (1800m) and Port Hedland Cup (2200m).

The pair couldn’t quite snare the Broome Cup (2200m), running on to be placed fourth and 4 ¼ lengths from stable mate, Desert Glow.

Dave Casey’s Danreign ensured he played a part in Horse of the Year when he scored a comfortable victory in the $40,000 Broome Sprint (1300m).

RWWA: Julio Santarelli