The Burgess Queen Stakes is named in honour of the Frank Maynard-trained sensation who was unbeaten in seven starts as a two-year-old-including the 1976 Karrakatta Plate-and went on to win the Prince Of Wales Stakes, Lee Steere Stakes and A.J.Scahill Stakes as a three-year-old.

Maynard holds the record as most successful trainer of the Listed Burgess Queen Stakes, winning the first of three titles in 1982, the inaugural running of the race, when My Serene, proved too strong for rivals.

Denver Dame (1987), with Mark Sestich in the saddle and Achtung Baby (1995), one of four victories for Paul Harvey, completed a winning hat trick for Maynard.

Wins to Kalatiara (2000), O’Flirty (2004) and Clueless Angel (2009) give Harvey the best strike rate of any jockey in the race.

Rod Kemp is a three-time winner after My Serene (1982), Grey Jane (1985) and Ask Me Later (1996) were successful, while Shaun O’Donnell, with Ideal Image (2014) and Red Hot Sax (2011), Peter Knuckey on Gwalia Girl (1999) and Miss Rose De Lago (2013), William Pike aboard Antique Belle (2012) and Pantenny (2006) and Stephen Miller partnering Glenflorrie (1989) and Zamerator (1991) are dual champions.

A host of trainers trail Maynard by just one in training honours including Grant Williams who prepared Ideal Image (2014) and Antique Belle (2012), David Harrison with Red Hot Sax (2011) and O’Flirty (2004), Neville Parnham’s Even Astar (2010) and Fortune Streak (2001), Paula Wagg’s Kim Angel (1998) and Locus Standi (2008), David Edwards’ pair of Beaux Art (1994) and Kim Gorgeous (1996) and Glenflorrie (1989) and Zamerator (1991) for Jon Inglis.

Jessica Carbery, one of two women to win the Burgess Queen Stakes when she guided Locus Standi, matched the feat of her partner, Pat Carbery, who won aboard Fortune Streak.

Alana Williams was successful on Belhari for trainer, Warwick Bradshaw, in 2003.

The most successful barrier is gate six with 12 wins, with gates two, eight, ten and eleven next with three wins apiece.

No horses have yet to win from barriers one, three and sixteen.

The heaviest weight carried to victory in the Burgess Queen Stakes was 57.5kg by Kalatiara in 2001.

The longest-priced Burgess Queen Stakes winner was 60/1 shot Belhari.

In 1996 Laurelaine was the first horse past the post but was later disqualified after returning a positive swab.