The Champion Fillies Stakes (1600m) was first run in 1946 and won by Burabudy who defeated Cylena and Rose Morn.

The three-year-old feature race held Group 2 status from 1979 to 1996 before being downgraded to Group 3 level in 1997.

WA Champion Fillies/WA Guineas: 3 Queen of the May (1959), Prediction (Guineas Nov 1949. Fillies March 1950); Jeannie (Guineas Nov 1948, Fillies March 1949).

WA Champion Fillies/ WA Oaks: Delicacy (Fillies 222014, Oaks 2015, Dreamaway (2011), Queen Inca (1980), Brechin Castle (1979), Our Pocket (Fillies 1973, Oaks (1974), Muette (Fillies 1965, Oaks 1966), Cheeky Jan (Fillies 1957, Oaks 1958), Copper Beech (1953).

WA Champion Fillies/WA Derby: Dreamaway (2011), Kim Angel (Derby 1998, Fillies 1999), Kev’s Folly (1964), Lady Orator (1956), Prediction (Derby 1949, Fillies 1950), Lady Lucia (Derby 1946, Fillies 1947).

Since 1990 Len Morton holds the best training record with four winners: Ellendale (2000), Mercurial Madam (1996), Zabanella 91994) and Surfside Lady (1988).

Grant Williams with Delicacy (2014) and Dreamaway (2011), Paula Wagg, who prepared Spirited One (2008) and Kim Angel (1999) and Lou Luciani (Miss Precisely (2001) and Prime Again (1993) are two time champions.

Brothers John and Ross Price shared a WA Champion Fillies trophy two decades apart; John had success in 2009 when Danebeela defeated All Class and Flight Path.

Bunbury-based Ross combined with jockey, Mark Sestich and Lady Of Battle (1989).

Hall Of Fame hoop Paul Harvey has ridden four Champion Fillies Stakes winners: Fuddle De Duddle (2012), Eight Till Late (2011), Spirit Lady (2003) and Mercurial Madam (1996).

Jason Brown is one behind Harvey after a purple-patch in the 1990s: Prime Again (1993), Chancery Star (1992) and Strip The Moon (1990).

Peter Knuckey and Paul King have two wins apiece: the former Miss Rose De Lago (2013) and Ellendale (2000), the latter Duendee (1997) and Kim Angel (1999).

Steven Parnham, who gained his maiden win when he combined with his father’s horse, Superior Star, in 2002, has the wood over his brother.

Brad has placed on three occasions including the past years: Dancing Express (2014), Via Laurantina (2013), and Clarecastle (2006)

Since 1990 barriers two (3), three (3), five (5) and thirteen (13) have proven to be the most successful starting points for the WA Champion Fillies.

In the same period and time frame barriers eight (0), fourteen (0) and sixteen (0) have been the least productive.

The previous ten winners of the Champion Fillies Stakes include:


2014 Delicacy Peter Hall Grant Williams
2013 Miss Rose De Lago Peter Knuckey Simon Miller
2012 Fuddle Dee Duddle Paul Harvey Lindsey Smith
2011 Eight Till Late Paul Harvey Shane Edwards
2011 Dreamaway William Pike Grant Williams
2010 Le Plunge Clint Harvey Adam Durrant
2009 Danebeela William Pike John Price
2008 Spirited One Shaun O’Donnell Paula Wagg
2006 Catechuchu Damien Oliver David Hayes
2005 Hi On Love Danny Miller Wendy Miller