Peter Fernie held out a determined challenge from Helen Harding to claim premiership honours for the 2014 Kalgoorlie season.

Fernie and Harding went toe-for-toe for most of the season with the title up for grabs heading into the final meeting.

Fernie led by two but it was immediately cut back by Harding who took out the opening event courtesy of Tarragona.

Stable mate Don’t Hussle Me gave Harding real hope but wins to Harvey’s Loss and True Gold in the Kalgoorlie Cup capped a premiership winning season for the powerful Fernie team.

The jockey’s premiership also created excitement and wasn’t decided until the final race when Ed Creighton scored a race-to-race double with Kronfeld.

Creighton, who piloted True Gold, shared the honours with Emma Stent.

Stent gained the ascendancy early and took a one win lead after Comanche Red’s success before Creighton stormed home late.

Horse of the Year was also titanic affair with Kronfeld and Saxon Coast sharing the spoils.


Trainer of the Year

Fernie                                     30

Harding                                 28

Bermingham Jnr                 19

Smith                                      9

Jockey of the Year

Stent                                     23

Creighton                            23

Faithfull                               15

Meeres                                 14

Apprentice of the Year

Stent                                    23

Faithfull                              14

Warwick                             13

Horse of the Year

Saxon Coast                      27

Kronfeld                            27

Hallowell Fever               21

Casino Belle                     21