Two trailblazers for women in racing, jockey Paula Wagg and administrator Marjorie Charleson, will join renowned horseman Bert Harrison and legendary stallion Haulpak in the esteemed WA Racing Hall of Fame in August.

As the first female jockey licensed in Western Australia, Paula Wagg broke several barriers in a male-dominated field, paving the way for future generations of women in racing. Her resilience inspired countless others to pursue a career in racing, both in WA and internationally, as she became the first woman to ride in Singapore and Malaysia.

Marjorie Charleson served as the first female public relations officer for the Western Australian Turf Club, a role she held with pride for 16 years. Marjorie brought Fashions of the Field to Perth, organised major fundraising events, championed the Powder Puff Derby for female riders and showcased WA’s top stallions. Notably, she also attracted Kingston Town to the 1982 Western Mail Classic.

Bert Harrison oversaw many top-line thoroughbreds during his 50-year training career, including Fait Accompli and Asian Beau. Known for his skill in mentoring apprentices, Bert imparted his riding knowledges with apprentices including Troy Jackman, Sean Posner, Alan Hughes, Grant Wooten, Gary McGruddy and Ray Malpass the art of ‘riding with balance and hands’.

Haulpak’s remarkable legacy in racing is a testament to the vision of Robert Holmes à Court, who believed in Haulpak’s potential despite his lack of major feature race wins. Supported by Holmes à Court’s broodmares at Heytesbury Stud, Haulpak sired numerous champions, including Haulpak’s Image, Starstruck, Miss Muffet, Chanteclair, Coal Pak, Carry A Smile and Hold That Smile.

Racing and Wagering Western Australia CEO Ian Edwards said each inductee had played a pivotal role in shaping the rich history of racing in Western Australia.

“These inductees have demonstrated incredible vision, resilience and skill in their respective fields and I look forward to seeing them celebrated later this year,” Ian said.

The induction will be held The Westin Hotel on Saturday, 17 August 2024.