Me Hungi defied an injury setback to give trainer Jacqueline Henderson her biggest thrill in racing when he stormed home to win the XXXX-Gold Carnarvon Cup (2000m).

The former Victorian galloper unleashed a powerful finishing burst from near last to run over the top of Wayside and score by one length with Rive Gauche third.

It was Me Hungi’s first win since joining Henderson’s stable earlier this year and ended a run of three minor placings at Roebourne, Broome and Carnarvon.

The son of Lago Delight was one of two Carnarvon Cup starters for Henderson with stable mate This Cat Rocks, who started favourite, running sixth.

Me Hungi was well considered by punters, starting at $7.50, after a slashing second to This Cat Rocks in last fortnight’s, Peter Evans Memorial (1700m).

Henderson, who shares ownership in Me Hungi, said he was fortunate to still be racing.

“He suffered a bad leg injury in Adelaide when he kicked out in the float,” said Henderson.

“He was travelling across the Nullarbor from Victoria.

“The vets said it was bad enough that he wouldn’t race again.

“His delayed arrival meant I was always behind the eight ball.

“I thought he might have lacked an edge in fitness.”

Jo Anne Leeson ended the Carnarvon season with bang when Hugo Drax and Tindal gave her a training double.

Tindal, well beaten at his previous two starts, stormed back to score an upset win in the Carnarvon Sprint (1200m).

The veteran ten-year-old was ridden by apprentice, Mollie Clarke, who celebrated her first ever win in the saddle.

Hugo Drax, who started a red hot favourite, gave punters a scare but had enough in hand to hold out, Raytaya, by a short neck.

Leeson’s double clinched a second consecutive win in the Trainer’s Premiership, scoring narrowly from Dongara’s Noel Pateman.

The jockey’s trophy was just a tight but after wins on Bicol Express and Hugo Drax Misty Bazeley gained the nod over Casey Hunter.

Hunter defeated Kate Fitzgerald by three points to take out the Adrian Chan Memorial Apprentice Jockey of the Year.

Despite a late charge from Bicol Express, Terry Brennan’s Cat Five, who won four consecutive races, was crowned Champion Horse.

RWWA: Julio Santarelli