History Of Asian Beau Stakes


Asian Beau Stakes History:Overview

  • The Asian Beau Stakes was first run in 1982 and won by Nitro Lad.  The 2018 edition of the Asian Beau Stakes (1400m) has attracted 7 entries.
  • It was known as the WATC Kankama Quality Stakes, the WATC Belmont Community Quality Stakes, WATC Budget Quality Stakes, WATC Singapore Quality and the Asian Beau stakes since 1995.
  • The race is named after champion sprinter/miler Asian Beau, who raced in the late 1970s and early 1980s.

Asian Beau Stakes History:Trainers

  • Bunbury horseman, Ross Price, is the only multiple winner of the Asian Beau Stakes: the inaugural winner Nitro Lad (1992) and Colour Correct (2010).
  • Paula Wagg, with Balmont Girl (2014), Christine Stelmach with Wild Target (2005) and Paige Kenney with Westriver Kevydonn (2012) are the only girls to prepare an Asian Beau Stakes winner.
  • Alana Williams shared Heart Starter’s 2016 success with partner and co-trainer Grant Williams. It was her second win after as a jockey she piloted home Fair Alert (2000).
  • Chris Gangemi (Disposition), Steve Wolfe (Red Ora), Fred Kersley (Ihtsahymn) and Neville Parnham (War God-Wrinkly) are searching for their first win in the Asian Beau Stakes.
  • Grant and Alana Williams can join Ross Price as multiple winners with Galaxy Star and Action representing their stable in the 2018 edition of the race.

Asian Beau Stakes History:Jockey’s

  • Pat Carbery has had more success in the Asian Beau Stakes than any other rider.  He won his first aboard Classy Dresser (1994) and followed with Look Of Success (1997), Umah (1999), Gilded Venom (2008), Westriver Kevydonn (2012) and Pounamu (2018).
  • Carbery can secure a seventh Asian Beau Stakes wins when he partners Wrinkly.
  • O’Donnell can add fourth trophy when he combines with Disposition.
  • Shaun O’Donnell sits second behind Carbery with a haul of three winners: Kasabian (2009), Luckygray (2011) and Balmont Girl (2014).
  • Jason Whiting was the first rider to score consecutive wins: Track Jester (2003) and Rock Of Cashel (2004).
  • William Pike is the only other rider to claim back-to-back wins: Real Love (2015) and Heart Starter (2016).
  • He will chase a third win aboard Galaxy Star.
  • Shaun McGruddy (Red Ora), Steven Parnham (Ihtsahymn) and Chris Parnham (Action) are chasing their first win in the race.
  • Jason Brown, who won on Idyllic Prince (2006), can join Troy Jackman, Stephen Miller and Jason Oliver as a two-time winner when he rides War God.

Asian Beau Stakes History: Barriers

  • Barrier three is the most successful starting position in the Asian Beau Stakes with six wins.
  • Red Ora will jump from this draw on Saturday.
  • Barriers five and nine have each recorded four wins.
  • Action has drawn barrier five in the field of seven starters.
  • Barrier one has had three winners. Ihtsahymn can make if a fourth on Saturday.
  • Barrier four, six and seven have recoded two wins.
  • Galaxy Star (4), Wrinkly (6) and War God (7) have drawn those barriers.

Asian Beau Stakes History:Gender

  • Geldings have won the Asian Beau Stakes on 25 occasions including 11 out of the past 15 editions of the race.
  • Disposition, Red Ora, Ihtsahymn, Action, War God and Wrinkly can extend that sequence to 26 wins.
  • Seven mares have won the race, Real Love the previous in 2015.
  • Galaxy Star is the only mare in the 2018 edition of the race.

Asian Beau Stakes History: Previous Starts

  • Since 2000 five of the past 18 Asian Beau victors have won their previous starts.
  • There are no last-start winners in the 2018 Asian Beau Stakes.
  • Since 2000 five last-start winners were placed at their previous outings.
  • Galaxy Star, Action and War God are coming off placings.
  • Since 2000 four of the past 18 winners have won first-up.
  • Red Ora and Wrinkly are first-up starters in the 2018 Asian Beau Stakes.

Julio Santarelli