Saturday’s feature race at Belmont, the $100,000 Listed Beaufine Stakes, run over 1000m, was first staged in 1979 and won by the Ross Price-trained and Gerry Donnelly-ridden Nilotic.

Commencing from barrier 13 in the field of 15 starters, the three-year-old son of Tamerteur defeated Saba Minx and Gypsy Princess.


Vern Brockman holds the Beaufine Stakes record with four wins:

I’m On Clover (1982), Lady Wild (2001) & Great Nation (2005-2006).

Neville Parnham sits one behind Brockman with three victories:

Bovader (1990), Real Magic (1992) & Irish Pride (2003).

Brockman is one four trainers to win the Beaufine Stakes in consecutive years:

Keith Jeffreys: Danzig Beau (1995-1996).

Stan Bates: Danzig Beau (2011-2012).

David Harrison: Settle Strada (2013) & Pininci (2014).

Len Morton shared the 1989 Beaufine Stakes with son, Dan, who rode Dark Beau.

Hall Of Fame hoop Paul Harvey and Paul Dyson share the Beaufine Stakes riding record.

Harvey booted home Bradson (1997), Willoughby (1999), Great Nation (2006) and Vizard (2008).

Dyson had success on Loan Board (1984), Bosanquet (1986), Ever Ready (1987) and The Profiteer (1998).

Dyson became the first jockey to win back-to-back Beaufine Stakes, Phil Alderman (1995-1996) and Pat Carbery (2013-2014) followed later.

Pat Carbery claimed the first of three Beaufine Stakes on Real Mak (2007).

Alana Williams is the sole female rider to win the Beaufine Stakes. She guided home Lady Wild (2001).

Geldings have dominated the race with 32 winners.

Four fillies have celebrated Beaufine Stakes wins: Lady Wild (2001), For Your Eyes Only (2010), All Friared Up (2011) & Military Reign (2016).

Three mares have enjoyed wins: Ever Ready (1987), Star Pet (1993) & Market Ruler (2019).

Key Business the sole colt to win the Beaufine Stakes (1994).

Four-year-olds have the edge with 13 Beaufine Stakes’ victories.

Three-year-olds have tasted victory on 12 occasions.

Willoughby (1999) and Coal Pak (1988) as eight-year-olds, are the oldest horses to win the Beaufine Stakes.

Barriers one, four, and seven has been the best starting gates in the Beaufine Stakes with five wins.

Barriers six and nine have been winning gate positions on four occasions.

Willoughby is the highest weight carrier in the Beaufine Stakes, lumping 59.5kg in 1999.

Rock Magic carried 58.5kg to victory in 2015.


For Your Eyes Only (2010): 56.61sec


2019 Market Ruler Chris Parnham Simon Miller
2018 Durendal Shaun McGruddy Chris Gangemi
2017 It’s It Randy Tan Sharon Miller
2016 Military Reign William Pike Darren McAuliffe
2015 Rock Magic Jarrad Noske Chris Gangemi
2014 Pininci Pat Carbery David Harrison
2013 Settle Strada Pat Carbery David Harrison
2012 Megem’s Boy William Pike Stan Bates
2011 All Friared Up Jason Whiting Stan Bates
2010 For Your Eyes Only Troy Turner Paul Jordan
2009 Ma Ma Machine Alan Kennedy Adam Durrant
2008 Vizard Paul Harvey George Daly
2007 Real Mak Pat Carbery Wally Mitchell
2006 Great Nation Paul Harvey Vern Brockman
2005 Great Nation David O’Heare Vern Brockman
2004 River Mist Peter Knuckey George Daly
2003 Irish Pride Tim Stubberfield Neville Parnham
2002 Kaprats Paul King Warren Radford
2001 Lady Wild Alana Williams Vern Brockman
2000 Zabaset Damian Miller Wendy Miller

Julio Santarelli