It’s the turn of three-year-olds to take centre stage at Belmont on Saturday with the running of of the Listed Belmont Guineas, run over 1600m. Below is an overview of the race’s history.


The Belmont Guineas was first staged in 1980 and won by Queen Inca, ridden by Mark Grisby and trained by Colin Webster. Elorance ran second and Given Vision placed third.

Queen Inca also won the Champion Fillies Stakes and the WA Oaks.

Queen Inca carried 54kg, ran 1.39.86sec for the 1600m, commenced from barrier nine in a field of 15 starters and was sent out as a 9/2 chance.


Modern day trainers Lou Luciani, Fred Kersley, Adam Durrant and Grant and Alana Williams are two-time winners of the Belmont Guineas.

Luciani: Key Target (1997) & Lady Fidelia (2000).

Kersley: Mr Diagnosis (2006) & Grand Nirvana (2009).

Durrant: Summah’s Touch (2013) & Tick Tick Bloom (2014).

Grant & Alana Williams: State Prosecutor (2018) & Mystery Miss (2019).


Paul Harvey and William Pike are the most successful riders in the Belmont Guineas with four winners

Harvey won his first on Just Jugah (1996) and followed up with Siranto (1999), Mr Diagnosis (2006) & Cohort (2008).

Pike opened his Belmont Guineas record aboard The Underworld (2011) and continued later with Tick Tick Bloom (2014), State Prosecutor (2018) and Mystery Miss (2019).

WA Hall Of Fame inductee Rod Kemp, Peter Knuckey and Glenn Smith are next with three wins apiece.

Kemp: Art Roy (1983), Concrete (1985) & Executive Class (1986).

Knuckey: Advise Me (1992), Lady Fidelia (2000) & Volition (2005).

Smith: Lady Knockout (2002), Coppertito (2004) & Rohan (2012).

Stephen Miller has three wins in the Belmont Guineas. Twice as a jockey: Perfect Answer (1989) & Final Impact (1993). He also won it as a trainer with Variation (2017).


Barrier nine: six wins.

Barrier eleven: five wins.

Barrier two: four wins.

Barrier three: four wins.

Barrier eight: four wins.

Barriers 12 & 14 have recorded no wins.


Geldings have won 19 editions of the Belmont Guineas including four out of past five years.

Fillies have been successful on 14 occasions, the previous Kay Cee (2020).

Six colts have won the Belmont Guineas


Jungle Myth: 1.35.78sec in 1988.


Since 2000 18 of the 21 winners have either won or were placed at their previous starts.

Summah’s Touch and Rohan won first-up.

Variation (5th), Tradesman (6th) and Lady Fidelia (4th) were unplaced before the Belmont Guineas.


Lady Knockout (2002) 40/ 1


2020                               Kay Cee                          Steven Parnham          Neville Parnham

2019 Mystery Miss William Pike Grant & Alana Williams
2018 State Prosecutor William Pike Grant & Alana Williams
2017 Variation Brad Parnham Stephen Miller
2016 Great Shot Craig Staples Rhys Radford
2015 Tradesman Troy Turner Rob & Todd Harvey
2014 Tick Tick Bloom William Pike Adam Durrant
2013 Summah’s Touch Ben Paterson Adam Durrant
2012 Rohan Glenn Smith Vaughn Sigley
2011 The Underworld William Pike Chris Gangemi
2010 Mighty Rossa Shaun O’Donnell Michael Grant
2009 Grand Nirvana Dan Staeck Fred Kersley
2008 Cohort Paul Harvey Ivan Haggerty
2007 Joey Jo Jo Troy Turner Bill Pope
2006 Mr Diagnosis Paul Harvey Fred Kersley
2005 Volition Peter Knuckey Paul Jordan
2004 Coppertito Glenn Smith Michael Lane
2003 Creatrix Shaun McGruddy Clayton Scoby-Smith
2002 Lady Knockout Glenn Smith Warwick Bradshaw
2001 Shot Of Thunder Paul King David Edwards
2000 Lady Fidelia Peter Knuckey Lou Luciani

Julio Santarelli