The $150,000 Listed Belmont Newmarket is the first feature race of the 2019-2020 racing season.

Below is an overview of the race


  • The Belmont Newmarket was first run in 1945 and won by Lord Treat, who was again successful and repeated the feat the following year.
  • The Listed Belmont Newmarket is the first feature race of the 2018-2019 Perth racing season.


  • Colin Webster and Allan Taylor hold the best training record in the Belmont Newmarket with three wins each.
  • Webster: Wolf City (1976), Prince Brighton (1979) & Eastern Standard (2005).
  • Taylor: Micron (1980-1981) & Wool Zone (1983).
  • Current day trainers Neville Parnham: Blonde Jev (1992) & Call Me Henry (2006), Ross Price: Medicine Kid (1994) & Smoko (2015), David Harrison: Casper Cowboy (2011) & Settle Strada (2014) and Simon Miller: First Among Equals (2016) & Meteoroid (2017) are two time winners.
  • Three trainers have prepared the Belmont Newmarket winner in successive years, but no trainer has won it three straight years in a row.


  • Paul Harvey has dominated the Belmont Newmarket with eight wins, two clear of his next rival, Frank Treen.
  • Harvey won his first Belmont Newmarket with French Sound (1997), Bradson (1998), Willoughby (1999), Marasco (2008), Vizard (2009), Escadaire (2010), Kid Choisir (2012) & First Among Equals (2017).
  • Frank Treen became the first rider to win a hatrick in the Belmont Newmarket: Eulogium (1948), The Drone (1949). Quicksand (1950) before completing a quintet on All India (1960) & Bernguard (1961).
  • Peter Knuckey Sr has one victory in the Belmont Newmarket: Jubilee Myth (1953), his son Peter matched the feat when he partnered the Greg Harper-trained News Review in 1999.
  • Sitting behind Paul Harvey and Frank Treen on three wins each are William Pike and Frank Moore.
  • Pike took out his maiden Belmont Newmarket on Wire Detonator (2007) before combining with Casper Cowboy (2011) and Smoko (2015).
  • Brad Parnham joined his father Neville on the Belmont Newmarket honour roll after teaming up with Call Me Henry (2006).


  • As a 9-year-old Medicine Kid was the oldest horse to win the Belmont Newmarket in 1994 when ridden by Jeremy Hustwitt.
  • Willoughby was an 8-year-old when he scored in 1999 for trainer Michael Pateman.
  • 5-year-olds hold the best record with 32 wins.
  • 4-year-olds have been successful on 16 occasions.


  • Geldings have dominated the Belmont Newmarket with 42 wins.
  • Horses have won 17 races, but the previous was Pago Mystery (1990).
  • Mares have won 12 Belmont Newmarket’s including two out of the previous five with Meteoroid (2018) and Wink And A Nod (2016).


  • Barriers three is the most successful Belmont Newmarket starting positions since records have been kept from 1966 with 10 wins.
  • Barriers six, seven and 10 are next with six wins.
  • Barrier two is the least successful with no wins.
  • Barrier three has been successful five out of the previous eight Belmont Newmarket’s.


2019 Super Maxi Peter Knuckey Chris Gangemi
2018 Meteoroid Joe Azzopardi Simon Miller
2017 First Among Equals Paul Harvey Simon Miller
2016 Wink And A Nod Lucy Warwick Justin Warwick
2015 Smoko William Pike Ross & Clint Price
2014 Settle Strada Pat Carbery David Harrison
2013 Cavallo Pazzo Kyra Yuill Ted Martinovich
2012 Kid Choisir Paul Harvey Allen McNamara
2011 Casper Cowboy William Pike David Harrison
2010 Escadaire Paul Harvey Frank Maynard
2009 Vizard Paul Harvey George Daly
2008 Marasco Paul Harvey Fred Kersley
2007 Wire Detonator William Pike Sharon Miller
2006 Call Me Henry Brad Parnham Neville Parnham
2005 Eastern Standard Troy Turner Colin Webster
2004 Fair Alert Alana Williams Ray Sweetman
2003 Kaprats Paul King Warren Radford
2001 Prince Of Pop Shaun McGruddy Tom Little
2000 Fly My Kite John Claite Rob Mathews