Feature racing for the 2020-21 season draws to a close this Saturday with the running of the Listed Bolton Sprint at Belmont Park.

Below is a snapshot of the races’ history.


  • The H.G.Bolton Sprint, a 1200m Listed race, was named in honour of Harry Bolton, who was considered the foremost administrator of racing in Western Australia.
  • Inducted into the WA Racing Hall of Fame (2012), Bolton was instrumental in the formation of the TAB, introduced starting gates and the movable running rail.
  • The Bolton Sprint was first staged in 1979 and won by four-year-old entire, Hartbalm, who carried 58kg, jumped from barrier nine and ran a time of 1.11.25sec.
  • Notable winners of the Bolton Sprint include Fimiston (1988), Jacks Or Better (1996), Grand Nirvana (2009-2010), Marasco (2008), First Among Equals (2016) , Golden Delicious (2003-2004) & Power Princess (2011).


  • Fred Kersley holds the distinction as the most successful trainer of the Bolton Sprint, winning the race a remarkable four times in succession.
  • Is Amazing (2007) launched his winning run and was followed by Marasco (2008) and Grand Nirvana (2009-2010).
  • Next on three wins are Jim Taylor, Neville Parnham and Simon Miller.
  • Taylor’s golden patch commenced with Cool Business (2002) before Golden Delicious went back to back (2003-2004).
  • Neville Parnham prepared Spook (1998), Electic (2006) and War God (2018).
  • Simon Miller: Power Princess (2011), First Among Equals (2016) & Valour Road (2019).


  • William Pike has ridden a record five Bolton Sprint winners: Is Amazing (2007), Marasco (2008), Celebrity Miss (2014), Rebel King (2015) and Valour Road (2019).
  • Jason Brown, Jason Whiting, Peter Knuckey and Pat Carbery are triple winners.
  • Brown: Cool Business (2002) & Golden Delicious (2003-2004).
  • Carbery: Spook (1998), Settle Strada (2013) and War God (2018).
  • Whiting: Doctor Golly (1992), Fireband (2001) and Impressive Stats (2005).


  • Barrier two: eight wins.
  • Barrier eight: five wins
  • Barrier five & six: four wins


  • Geldings: 28 winners
  • Mares: eight winners
  • Colts: three winners
  • Horses: three winners
  • Filly: Jungle Mist (1985).


  • Sky Filou (1987): 1.09.29sec.


  • Marasco (2008) 60kg.


  • War God (2018) $17.


  • Since 2000 nine favourites have won including the past two years with Valour Road (2019) and Red Can Man (2020).


  • Since 2000 16 of the past 20 winners have either won or placed at their previous starts.
  • Six were first up. Red Can Man (2020), First Among Equals (2016), Grand Nirvana (2009), Electic (2006), Golden Delicious (2004-2003), Cool Business (2002).

Julio Santarelli