• The H.G.Bolton Sprint, a 1200 metre Listed race, was named in honour of, Harry Bolton, who was considered the foremost administrator of racing in Western Australia.
  • Inducted into the WA Racing Hall of Fame (2012), Bolton was instrumental in the formation of the TAB, introduced starting gates and the implementation moveable running rail.
  • The Bolton Sprint was first staged in 1979 and won by four-year-old entire, Hartbalm, who carried 58kg, jumped from barrier nine and ran a time of 1.11.25sec.
  • Notable winners of the Bolton Sprint include Fimiston (1988), Jacks Or Better (1996), Grand Nirvana, Marasco and First Among Equals.


  • Fred Kersley holds the distinction as the most successful trainer of the Bolton Sprint, winning the race a remarkable four times in succession.
  • Is Amazing (2007) launched his winning run and was followed by Marasco (2008) and Grand Nirvana (2009-2010).
  • Sitting right behind Kersley is Jim Taylor, who has also enjoyed a top record in the race with a hat trick of winners.
  • Taylor’s golden patch commenced with Cool Business (2002) before Golden Delicious went back to back (2003-2004).
  • Current trainers Darren McAuliffe and Neville Parnham are dual winners of the Bolton Sprint.
  • Parnham: Spook (1998) & Electic (2006).
  • McAuliffe: Impressive Stats (2005) & Rebel King (2015).


  • William Pike (4) Jason Brown (3) and Jason Whiting (3) enjoy the best record of the modern day riders in the Bolton Sprint.
  • Pike: Is Amazing (2007), Marasco (2008), Celebrity Miss (2014) & Rebel King (2015). Pike the first rider to win the Bolton in successive years.
  • Brown: Cool Business (2002) & Golden Delicious (2003-2004). Brown remains the only hoop to win the Bolton Sprint three years in a row.
  • Peter Knuckey: Caliway (1993) & Power Princess (2011).
  • Pat Carbery: Spook (1998) & Settle Strada (2013).
  • Paul Harvey: Papillion (1999) & First Among Equals (2016).
  • Dan Staeck: Grand Nirvana (2009-2010).
  • Brad Parnham: Electic (2006) & Profit Street (2017).
  • Stephen Miller: Doctor Golly (1995) & Gold Aura (1997).


  • Barrier two: eight wins including three of the past four.
  • Barrier eight: five wins
  • Barrier six: four wins
  • Barrier four, five, seven, nine and 10: three wins
  • Barrier one and three: two wins.


  • Geldings: 24 winners
  • Mares: eight winners
  • Colts: three winners
  • Horses: three winners
  • Filly: one winner. (Jungle Mist (1985).


  • Sky Filou (1987): 1.09.29sec.


  • Jacks Or Better (1996): 58.5kg.

Julio Santarelli