• The Hyperion Stakes was first run in 1972 and won by St Just.
  • It has held Group 3 status since 1980 when won by Tsunami.
  • It has been run over distances from 1000m in 1972 & 1973, 1200m in 1974 and 1400m since 1975 except for 1979 when 1450m and 1983 1500m.
  • In 2005 the race was staged at Belmont Park.
  • The 2005 edition was a dead-heat between Lakeside Rhythm and Ambers Halo.
  • Notable winners include Detonator (1976), Asian Beau (1979), Fimiston (1988), Heron Bridge (1984-86), Jacks Or Better (1995). Luckygray (2012) and Scales Of Justice (2017).
  • Multiple winners are Cambana Lad (1974-1975), Heron Bridge (1984-1986) and Marasco (2008-2010).


  • Three riders share three wins in the Hyperion Stakes: Stephen Miller, Paul Harvey and Jason Brown.
  • Miller: Brave Kite (1994), Bar Dreamer (1997) & Old Fashion (2002).
  • Brown: Country Blazer (2001), Tribula (2003) & Mo Questions (2007).
  • Harvey: Willoughby (1998), Local Legend (2006) & Marasco (2008).
  • Jeff Noske rode Star System (1999) and his son, Jarrad, had a win aboard Fuchsia Bandana (2008).
  • Current day riders Dan Staeck with Marasco (2010) and Scales Of Justice (2017) and Shaun O’Donnell aboard Luckygray (2012) and Lakeside Rhythm (2005) and Lucy Warwick on Wink And A Nod (2016) and Material Man (2018) are dual Hyperion Stakes winners.
  • Keith Watson and Ian Albuino are also two-time Hyperion Stakes winners.
  • Lucy Warwick is the sole female rider to win the Hyperion Stakes.


  • Vern Brockman and Justin Warwick share three Hyperion Stakes victories.
  • Brockman became the first trainer to take out the race in consecutive years: Alpine Wind (1977), Junction Girl (1978) and Old Fashion (2002).
  • Warwick won it with Black Tycoon (2013), Wink And A Nod (2016) and Material Man (2018).
  • Current day trainers Fred Kersley, who prepared Marasco (2008-2010) and Ross Price, successful with Medicine Kid (1990) and Jungle Hero (1992).
  • Price’s brother, John, now based in Melbourne, prepared Local Legend (2006) to victory.
  • Paula Wagg is the sole female trainer to win Hyperion Stakes in 2005: Lakeside Rhythm


  • Barrier one has been the most successful starting position with nine wins.
  • Next is gate four with seven victories including five out of the past 11 years.
  • Barriers two and five have been successful on six occasions.
  • Barriers 11, 14, 15 and 16 have not recoded wins.


  • Geldings have the best strike rate with 27 Hyperion wins.
  • Mares have won it on nine occasions including three out of the past five years.
  • Horses have won it eight times.
  • Three colts have been successful: Asian Beau (1979), Sky Filou (1987) & Devilish Dealer (2000).
  • No fillies have been successful.


  • Five-year-olds have taken out the Hyperion Stakes on 18 occasions.
  • Four-year-olds have won 12 times.
  • Heron Bridge, as an eight-year-old, is the oldest horse to win the Hyperion Stakes in 1986.


  • Tribula (2003), Marasco (2008), Luckygray (2012), Elite Belle (2014), Wink And A Nod (2016) & Material Man (2018).


2018 Material Man Lucy Warwick Justin Warwick
2017 Scales Of Justice Dan Staeck Lindsey Smith
2016 Wink And A Nod Lucy Warwick Justin Warwick
2015 Fuchsia Bandana Jarrad Noske Darren McAuliffe
2014 Elite Belle William Pike Grant Williams
2013 Black Tycoon Troy Turner Justin Warwick
2012 Luckygray Shaun O’Donnell Gino Poletti
2011 King Kool Kat Duncan Miller Ian Glading
2010 Marasco Paul Harvey Fred Kersley
2009 Tarzi Steven Parnham Neville Parnham
2008 Marasco Paul Harvey Fred Kersley
2007 No Questions Jason Brown Trevor Andrews
2006 Local Legend Paul Harvey John Price
2005 Ambers Halo Jason Whiting Alan Mathews
2005 Lakeside Rhythm Shaun O’Donnell Paula Wagg
2004 Dedicated Miss Jason Miller Geoff Durrant
2003 Tribula Jason Brown Arthur Mortimer
2002 Old Fashion Stephen Miller Vern Brockman
2001 Country Blazer Jason Brown Jim Taylor
2000 Devilish Dealer Mark Sestich Paul Jordan

Julio Santarelli