Group racing returns to Belmont on Saturday, featuring the Hyperion Stakes. Below is an overview of the Group 3 1600m event that has been won by several of Western Australia’s top horses.


The Hyperion Stakes was first run in 1972 and won by St Just.

It’s held Group 3 status since 1980 when won by Tsunami.

Distances run have ranged from 1000m in 1972 & 1973, 1200m in 1974 and 1400m since 1975 except for 1979 and 1983 when staged over 1450m and 1500m respectively.

In 2005 the race was staged at Belmont Park.

The 2005 edition was a dead-heat between Lakeside Rhythm and Ambers Halo.

Notable winners include Detonator (1976), Asian Beau (1979), Fimiston (1988), Heron Bridge (1984-86), Jacks Or Better (1995). Luckygray (2012), Scales Of Justice (2017) and Gatting (2019).

Multiple winners include Cambana Lad (1974-1975), Heron Bridge (1984-1986) and Marasco (2008-2010).


Multiple riders share three wins in the Hyperion Stakes: Stephen Miller, Paul Harvey and Jason Brown.

Miller: Brave Kite (1994), Bar Dreamer (1997) & Old Fashion (2002).

Brown: Country Blazer (2001), Tribula (2003) & No Questions (2007).

Harvey: Willoughby (1998), Local Legend (2006) & Marasco (2008).

Jeff Noske rode Star System (1999) and his son, Jarrad, had a win aboard Fuchsia Bandana (2015).

Lucy Warwick is the only female rider to have won the Hyperion Stakes when she partnered Wink And A Nod (2016) and Material Man (2018).


Vern Brockman and Justin Warwick share three Hyperion Stakes victories.

Brockman: Alpine Wind (1977), Junction Girl (1978) and Old Fashion (2002).

Warwick won it with Black Tycoon (2013), Wink And A Nod (2016) and Material Man (2018).

The Price brothers feature twice on the Hyperion Stakes honour roll. Ross trained Medicine Kid in 1990 and John prepared Local Legend (2006).


Barrier one has been the most successful starting position with 8 wins, including the past two years.

Next is gate four with seven victories including five out of the past 12 years.

Barrier two has been successful on six occasions. Barrier five has five wins.

Barriers 11, 14, 15 and 16 have not recorded wins.


Geldings have the best strike rate with 26 wins.

Mares have won it on nine occasions including three out of the past six years.

The last mare to win: Wink And A Nod (2016).


Five-year-olds have taken out the Hyperion Stakes on 13 occasions.

Four-year-olds have won 12 times.

Heron Bridge, as an eight-year-old, is the oldest horse to win the Hyperion Stakes in 1986.

3YO to win: Asian Beau (1979), Sky Filou (1987), Jacks Or Better (1995), Devilish Dealer (2000),


Tribula (2003), Marasco (2008), Luckygray (2012), Elite Belle (2014), Wink And A Nod (2016) & Material Man (2018).


No Questions (2007), Tribula (2003) & Luckygray (2012).

FASTEST TIME (1400m): Medicine Kid 1: 21: 40.

FASTEST TIME (1600m): Material Man 1: 36:55.


2019 Gatting Lee Newman Darren McAuliffe
2018 Material Man Lucy Warwick Justin Warwick
2017 Scales Of Justice Dan Staeck Lindsey Smith
2016 Wink And A Nod Lucy Warwick Justin Warwick
2015 Fuchsia Bandana Jarrad Noske Darren McAuliffe
2014 Elite Belle William Pike Grant Williams
2013 Black Tycoon Troy Turner Justin Warwick
2012 Lucky Gray Shaun O’Donnell Gino Poletti
2011 King Kool Kat Duncan Miller Ian Glading
2010 Marasco Dan Staeck Fred Kersley
2009 Tarzi Steven Parnham Neville Parnham
2008 Marasco Paul Harvey Fred Kersley
2007 No Questions Jason Brown Trevor Andrews
2006 Local Legend Paul Harvey John Price
2005 Ambers Halo Jason Whiting Alan Mathews
2005 Lakeside Rhythm Shaun O’Donnell Paula Wagg
2004 Dedicated Miss Jason Miller Geoff Durrant
2003 Tribula Jason Brown Arthur Mortimer
2002 Old Fashion Stephen Miller Vern Brockman
2001 Country Blazer Jason Brown Jim Taylor
2000 Devilish Dealer Mark Sestich Paul Jordan

Julio Santarelli