The $150,000 Group 3 Strickland Stakes over 2000m headlines racing at Belmont on Saturday.

Here is an overview of the races’ history.


The Strickland Stakes is a Group 3 race held under weight for age conditions. Brown & Black, a six-year-old mare, ridden by T.O’Brien was the first recoded winner.

The race was held at Ascot from its inception to 2004 & 2006-2010.

Belmont staged the 2005 edition before a permanent move in 2011.

Notable winners include: Nicopolis (1962), Ngawyni (1975), Haulpak’s Image (1983), Summer Beau (1998) and Scales Of Justice (2017).

From 1973 to 2004 and 2006 to 2019, the Strickland Stakes was run over 1800m.

From 2005 and 2011 onwards, the Strickland Stakes has been run over 2000m.

In 2002 Finito and Gwalia Girl were involved in a dead heat.


H.W.Campbell holds the record as most successful Strickland Stakes trainer after wins to Asteroid (1955), Tribal Ring (1957), Nicopolis (1962) & Millefleurs (1972).

Hugh Jamieson won it three times with Rack And Ruin (1964), Chemech (1969) & Gilt Patten (1973)

Fred Kersley shares three winners with Jamieson after preparing Marasco (2009-2010) & Ihtsahymn (2016)

Modern day trainers Neville Parnham, Lou Luciani and Adam Durrant are two-time winners of the Strickland Stakes.

Durrant’s father Geoff won the Strickland Stakes with Dedicated Miss, ridden by long-time friend, Jason Miller in 2004.


Daniel Staeck holds the best riding record in the Strickland Stakes with six winners: Finito (2001-2002), Marasco (2009-2010), Kincaple (2013) & Scales Of Justice (2017).

Bob Morley is nest best with five: Huette (1924), Maple (1926-1927), Panto (1936) & Lord Treat (1945).

Frank “Tiger’ Moore won the first of four aboard Asteroid (1955) and continued on Tribal Ring (1957), Nicopolis (1962) & Surrender (1970).

Rod Kemp is also a four-time winner: Belle Talk (1980), Aldric (1981), Haulpak’s Image (1983) & My Serene (1984).

William Pike won his only Strickland Stakes race aboard Exchequer for trainer Lindsey Smith. His partner Jessica Valas followed up 12-months later on the Jack Cockell-trained Forrest Frolic.


Geldings: 44

Horses: 22

Mares: 18

Colts: 15

Fillies: 8


Three and four-year-old’s have dominated the Strickland Stakes with 56 wins combined.

Five-year-old’s have won it on 21 occasions.

Six-year-old’s have 15 wins.

Seven-year-old’s are the oldest horses to win the Strickland Stakes, taking it out seven times. :Kincaple (2013), Marasco (2010), Action Pak (2008), True Steel (2005), Iron Horse (2000), Track Jester (1986) & Chemech (1969).

BARRIERS (Since 1966).

Barriers three & nine: 7 wins

Barrier two: 6 wins

Barriers seven & eight: 5 wins.

Barriers five, six & 10: 4 wins