History Of The WA Oaks


The WA Oaks was first staged in 1953 and won by Copper Beech, who in the hands of Frank Treen, defeated Kalohi and Ceos.

The daughter of Treasure Hunt gave Treen the first of five WA Oaks after he later partnered Sweet Saga (1964), Carol’s Choice (1965), Star Supreme (1970) and Lovely Curves (1976).

The Treffone brothers, Eric and Reg, have a strong record in the race. Eric, a winner of nine jockey premierships, combined with Finesta in 1954.

Reg Treffone joined his brother on the Oaks honour roll as a trainer when he prepared Cheeky Jan (1958) and Sovereignito (1971).

Frank ‘Tiger’ Moore became the first rider to claim consecutive WA Oaks when he piloted Craghill (1955) and Dawdie (1956).

It was the first of a record-breaking eight WA Oaks after later wins with La Lisse (1959), Queen Of The Nile (1960), Muette (1966), Baywana (1969), Paper Honey (1973) and Our Pocket (1974).

Moore and Eric Treffone were inducted into the WA Racing Hall Of Fame in 2010 and 2012 respectively.

William Pike sits one win behind Treen after guiding Westerly Breeze (2007), Grand Journey (2008), Dreamaway (2011) and Delicacy (2015).

Rod Kemp was the first jockey to ride three successive WA Oaks after guiding True Devotion for Len Morton (1984), Contwig for Buster O’Malley (1985) and Neville Begg’s Cologne (1986).

Natasha’s WA Oaks victory in 1990 launched a remarkable run for prominent owner-breeder Bob Peters. He followed up with Reflcted Image (1999), Old Money (2000), Fatal Attraction (2004), Dreamaway (2011), Delicacy (2015), First Impressions (2016), Very Tempting (2017) and Special Alert (2018).

Trainer Grant Williams prepared Dreamaway, Delicacy, First Impressions and with his wife Alana prepared Very Tempting and Special Alert.

The WA Oaks held Group 1 status from 1979-1991, Group 2 from 1992-2005 and Group 3 from 2006.

It was run over 2200m from 1953-62, except for 1957 when 2000m, 2100m in 1963 & 1964 and 2400m since 1965.

Since 2000,13 of the past 16 WA Oaks champions have won or been placed in the Natasha Stakes.

Since 1967 barriers one, three and seven have been the most successful with eight wins apiece, followed by gates two and six with six wins each.

Barriers 13, 15 and 16 have been the least successful with no wins.

Delicacy (2015), Dreamaway (2011), Grand Journey (2008), Honor Lap (2002), Old Money (2000) and Beaux Art (1994) have won the WA Oaks-WA Derby double.


2018 Special Alert Chris Parnham Grant & Alana Williams
2017 Very Tempting Chris Parnham Grant & Alana Williams
2016 First Impressions Glenn Smith Grant Williams
2015 Delicacy William Pike Grant Williams
2014 Balmont Girl Shaun O’Donnell Paula Wagg
2013 Moreish Troy Turner Sharon Miller
2012 Pop Culture Troy Turner Colin Webster
2011 Dreamaway William Pike Grant Williams
2010 Impressive Jeuney Shaun O’Donnell Darren McAuliffe
2009 Cassandra Shadow William Pike Shane Edwards