Peter Fernie was officially crowned Champion Trainer as the Kalgoorlie-Boulder Racing Club conducted their final meeting on Sunday.

Fernie’s name had his name on the Champion Trainer honour roll from early on in the season, given his final tally of 51 winners, 36 clear of his next rival, runner-up, Pat Bermingham Jnr.

Former jockey, Brett Mathews, in his first season of training, hung on for third with 12 wins, one clear of David Smith.

Mathews claimed honours in the Coolgardie Cup (1760m) when he prepared, Western Blaze, to an upset victory.

Fernie snared his ninth Kalgoorlie title and comfortably smashed his previous record of 42 wins in a season.

On Anzac Day he trained half the card when Yuzz A Ma Tuzz, Turbo Tracey, Grand Palace and Thidwick The Moose were successful.

Two meetings later he snared another haul of four winners with Regal Weapon, Zee Dribbler, The Cruel Sea and Rafferty.

Ironically Fernie’s season strike rate of recording a winner or better in each meeting came to a halt on the final programme of the year.

A frustrating day ended with six placings including a third in the Kalgoorlie Cup when Black Moment finished a neck behind Woodsville.

Fernie’s dominance extended to the Horse of the Year with Small and Spicy getting the nod in a tight contest over stable mate Crown Saga.

Small And Spicy raced on 14 occasions this season for a tally of four consecutive wins, one second and a hat trick of thirds.

A beneficiary of Fernie’s supremacy was Glenn Smith who took out the Leading Jockey award.

Smith booted home 20 winners, two clear of young gun, Clint Johnston-Porter, who won Leading Apprentice.

RWWA: Julio Santarelli