The Kingston Town Classic was first staged in 1979 and won by the George Hanlon-trained and David Brosnan-ridden, Family of Man, who won the race again two years later as the hot favourite when in the hands of Harry White.

Hanlon and his compatriots in the Australian Racing Hall Of Fame, Bart Cummings, Tommy Smith, Colin Hayes, his son David and Geoff Murphy, also have their named etched on the Kingston Town honour roll.

Cummings, an inaugural inductee with Colin Hayes and Smith, prepared Stormy Rex, ridden by Danny Miller in 1977 and enjoyed success six years later when Bounty Hawk and Mark De Montfort combined.

Mighty Kingdom (1979), a three-year-old colt by Planet Kingdom, gave Smith his first success in the race before Kingston Town, who the race is named after, ended his glittering career with victory in 1982.

Mighty Kingdom and Kingston Town were both ridden by ‘Miracle’ Malcolm Johnston, with both horses ironically starting from the exact gate positions in barrier ten.

Colin Hayes is one of eight trainers to have won the Kingston Town on two occasions when he combined with Military Plume in 1986 and Better Loosen Up three years later, both champions ridden by Michael Clarke.

Hayes’ son, David, with three trophies, is the most successful trainer in Kingston Town history after wins to Credit Account (1993) and Niconero (2006-2008).

Neville Parnham, Lindsey Smith, Bob Taylor and Albie Beckett are the best credentialed Perth trainers with two wins each.

Taylor created history when Summer Beau (1996-1997) became the first horse to win the Kingston Town Classic in successive years; Smith followed with Old Comrade (2000-2001) and Parnham had Playing God (2010-2011).

Old Role (1991) and Megatic (2007) gave Beckett twin victories.

WA Hall Of Fame inductee, Paul Harvey, holds the best riding record with four winners: Old Comrade (2000-2001), Modem (2004) and Megatic (2007).

Steven Parnham trails by one after piloting Playing God (2010-2011) and Ihtsahymn (2013).

Danny Miller, Malcom Johnston, Rod Kemp, Michael Clarke, Damien Oliver, Brad Rawiller and Shaun O’Donnell are dual champions.

Miller, at 68 Australia’s oldest jockey, won his two races 20 years apart: Stormy Rex (1977) and Summer Beau (1997).

St Clemens Belle, prepared by Russell Cameron and ridden by Jim Cassidy, is the last mare to win the Kingston Town Classic. She is one of just three after Credit Account (1993) and Doodlakine Lass (1987).

Six horses have won the WA Guineas-Kingston Town Classic: Importune (1984), Summer Beau (1996), Old Nick (1998), Megatic (2007), Playing God (2010) and Ihtsahymn (2013).

Barrier 10 is the most successful barrier draw with seven victories, including three in a row between 1981 and 1983.

The least successful barrier positions are 11, 12, 13, 15 and 16 with one win each.

RWWA: Julio Santarelli