Miss Andretti Stakes History


This Saturday will see the 26th running of the Listed Miss Andretti Stakes (1100m) at Ascot, the highlight of the eight event program.

The race was called the Ruabon Stakes up until season 2008/09, before it was renamed to recognise the star West Australian sprinter who won a Lightning Stakes, Newmarket Handicap and Kings Stand Stakes.

Miss Andretti also won this race in 2005, beating Rescuer and Early Express.

A select field of nine will face the starter for this Saturday’s edition, headlined by last start Summer Scorcher winner Misty Metal.

The first edition of the $100,000 event was run in November 1993, before it was brought forward to the early part of the spring in 2001.

In the 2009/10 season, the race was moved back to April, before it eventually found its spot in January in season 2013/14 and has remained there since.

Since the move to the early January timeslot, the Listed Summer Scorcher, run on Perth Cup day, has become the key lead up race to the Miss Andretti Stakes.

Dawn Approach (2015), Lucky Street (2016), Volkoff (2017), Caipirinha (2018) finished sixth, second, fifth and second respectively in the Summer Scorcher prior to their Miss Andretti Stakes wins.

Only two horses have won the race twice; Cranky Tikit (1995 and 1998) and Stormed Out (2006 and 2007).

Simon Miller is the most successful trainer in the race’s history, winning with Power Princess (2012), Hussy By Choice (2014) and Caipirinha (2018).

Other trainers to have won the race on multiple occasions are; David Harrison, Michael Pateman and Sarah Searle.

Every trainer engaged in this week’s edition of the sprint are yet to have success in it.

Five jockeys have won the race twice; Jason Whiting (2002 and 2017), Peter Knuckey (2012 and 2013), Patrick Carbery (2003 and 2006), Shaun Mc Gruddy (2004 and 2010) and Takahide Ikenushi (2011 and 2015).

Of those with multiple wins, only Mc Gruddy has a ride in this weekend’s race, where he teams up with Misty Metal.

William Pike and Joseph Azzopardi will be looking to add their name on the honour roll for a second time, having won the race with Stormed Out and Caipirinha respectively in the past.

Misty Metal is the sole mare and sole four-year-old in the field this year.

Four-year-olds have won 10 of the previous 25 editions of the race, while mares have won it nine times.

First Among Equals, first-up in WA following a stint in Victoria with Darren Weir, has 60kg this weekend and will have to break Power Princess’ (59kg) weight carrying record to victory.

The Miss Andretti Stakes jumps at 3.55 on Saturday afternoon.

Tim Walker