The $100,000 Mungrup Stud Sprint, Mount Barker’s premier short-course race, was first staged in 1985 and won by Red Dragon, a son of Stylish Century.
With the scratching of Flytego a field of 11 will contest Sunday’s feature race, headed by top weight and last year’s champion, Dream Lifter.

Darren McAuliffe, Dixie Solly, Steve Wolfe and Paul Hunter are in line to become the most successful trainer of the Mungrup Stud Sprint.
McAuliffe saddles Rebel King, Hunter prepares Dream Lifter, Solly has a two-pronged attack with Bindaree Lady and Blizzard Express, while Wolfe pins his faith in last year’s runner-up, Tiger Pete.

McAuliffe won previously with Impressive Stats (2005) and Spitfire Ace (2010), Hunter first tasted success with My Leo (2007) and then Dream Lifter (2016), Solly prepared Northern Blizzard (1999) and Noble Steed (2008) and Wolfe On Our Selection (1990) and Star State (1993).
Roy Rogers (Potent Secret-Candlelight Star) Dan Morton (Red Ora) Cliff Green (Calabria Joe) Angela Smith (Corporate Larrikin) and Des Atwell (Long Knife) will look to add their name to the honour roll for the first time.

Danny Miller can edge past Jim Lemon as the most successful rider in the Mungrup Stud Sprint when he partners, Bindaree Lady.
Miller enjoyed a purple-patch in the nineties aboard Power Quest (1994), National Pleasure (1996) and Northern Blizzard (1999).

Mitchell Pateman, who will combine with Dream Lifter, can become the first jockey to win successive Mungrup Stud Sprints since Alana Williams steered home Shane’s Boy (2003) and Chucka Khan (2004).

Chis Parnham can join his trainer-father, Neville Parnham, on the Mungrup Stud Sprint trophy board when he combines with, Red Ora.

Neville Parnham is a dual winner, training Jumallique (2002) and Electric General (2009).

Ben Kennedy (Potent Secret), Kate Witten (Blizzard Express), Matthieu Autier (Calabria Joe), Jerry Noske (Candlelight Star), Clint Johnston-Porter (Corporate Larrikin), Alan Kennedy (Long Knife), William Pike (Rebel King) and Shaun McGruddy (Tiger Pete) are looking for their first success in the race.
Noske’s brother, Jarrad, won aboard Xaaravid in 2011.

Potent Secret, Bindaree Lady and Corporate Larrikin will start from barriers, two, four and ten respectively, the most successful starting positions since 2000.

Calabria Joe will be out to become the first horse in the past 15 years to win from barrier seven.

Dream Lifter, Red Ora, Blizzard Express, Calabria Joe, Candlelight Star, Corporate Larrikin, Long Knife, Rebel King and Tiger Pete will look to extend the strike rate of geldings who have won 10 of the 16 editions of the Mungrup Stud Sprint.

Bindaree Lady will fly the flag for the ladies, Ring Road the only mare to have tasted success this century after her twin wins in 2000 and 2001.

11 of the past 16 winners have either won or been placed in their previous race.

Long Knife is the only last-start winner, Bindaree Lady, Candlelight Star, Corporate Larrikin and Tiger Pete were placed.

RWWA: Julio Santarelli