The Perth Cup was first run in 1887 and won by First Prince.

It held Group 1 status from 1980 to 1992 and Group 2 from 1993.

In the past 25 editions of the Perth Cup 5 mares have won the race: Talent Show (2013), Western Jewell (2012), Luna Tudor (2000m), Palatious (1994) and Mirror Magic (1992).

Mares in this year’s race include the first and second favourites: Real Love, Balmont Girl and Lucciola.

Trainer Adam Durrant will be represented by three runners: Real Love, Mr Moet and Chester Road.

Durrant prepared the first two placegetters in 2010: Lords Ransom and Ma Chienne.

He also placed second with Mr Moet in 2013.

Lucciola, along with Global Flirt and Son Of Something will spearhead Justin Warwick’s team.

Warwick won last year’s Perth Cup with eight-year-old Black Tycoon.

The last trainer to win back-to-back Perth Cups was Alan Mathews: Palatious (1994) and Field Officer (1993).

He also was successful with Mirror Magic the year prior (1992).

Warwick’s daughter, Lucy, will ride Lucciola.

The only other female rider to win a Perth Cup was Kyra Yuill who piloted Western Jewell (2012).

Warwick and Jerry Noske on Red Blast represent the female gender in this year’s event.

Of the jockey’s riding in this year’s feature Peter Hall, Peter Knuckey, Pat Carbery, Jarrad Noske, William Pike and Brad Parnham have enjoyed previous victories.

Hall, who won aboard Black Tom (2006), was also placed on four occasions: Ma Chienne (2010), Black Tom (2005), Indigo King (2004) and Victory Morn (2000m).

Hall rides top weight Mr Moet on Thursday.

Carbery takes over from Shaun O’Donnell on Gino Poletti’s Classique Ivory.

Carbery teamed up with trainer Alan Mathews and Lottila Bay in 2001.

A year later he ran third aboard Shoeless and filled the same placing with Senhor Da Gama in 2012.

O’Donnell is in search of his maiden Perth Cup with Balmont Girl, prepared by, Paula Wagg.

The last female to train a Perth Cup was Angela Smith who had Time Frame (1997).

Troy Turner is out to shed his Perth Cup hoodoo on Ask Me Nicely.

Turner was placed on Westerly Breeze (2008), Free At Last (2005), Bold Mirage (2003), Matriculate (2000), Rogan Josh (1999) and Beau Heed (1997).

Steven Parnham has been placed in three of the past five years: Ask Me Nicely (2014), God Has Spoken (2012) and Largo Lad (2010).

Of the trainer’s in Thursday’s Perth Cup Durrant, Warwick, Grant Williams and Neville Parnham hold the best record.

Williams, who won with Westerly Jewell, has WA Derby champion Respondent entered.

Parnham has a two-pronged attack with Bass Strait and God Has Spoken.

Parnham trained Luna Tudor, ridden by Jason Brown, to victory in 2000.

His veteran galloper God Has Spoken was runner up last year and gain in 2012.

The oldest horse to win the Perth Cup in the past 25 years belongs to 10-year-old Lottila Bay (2001).

Ask Me Nicely (8), God Has Spoken (8) and Global Flirt (8) are the oldest runners entered on New Year’s Day.

Barrier six with four wins is the most successful barrier in the last 25 years: Crown Prosecutor (2005), King Canute (2004), Crying Game (1996) and Ros Ref (1995).

Barriers two, three, five and fourteen are next with three wins apiece.