Restructure of Kalgoorlie Thoroughbred Racing Season


Racing and Wagering Western Australia (RWWA), in conjunction with the Kalgoorlie-Boulder Racing Club (KBRC), has today announced a restructure of race dates at Kalgoorlie Racecourse for the 2019 season.

The average field size at Kalgoorlie has dropped by 10% in the last two-years to only 8.7 in the 2018 season, placing it significantly behind other major provincial clubs in Western Australia.

RWWA and the KBRC introduced float subsidies during the 2018 season to encourage trainers to travel horses to Kalgoorlie, while subsidies of approximately $50,000 were paid to trainers throughout the season, there was no material impact on field sizes and that initiative will not continue this year.

The 2019 Kalgoorlie season will see a re-spacing of race meetings to provide for only three fixtures per month, whilst also extending the duration of the season through until 1 November.

The dates of the very popular ‘Race Round’ will remain the same as last year with two race meetings to now be run after Kalgoorlie Cup Day. There will be an overall reduction of three race meetings from that run in the 2018 season.

RWWA Manager Commercial Racing and Planning David Hunter said that Kalgoorlie remains an integral part of our racing program, however it is obvious from recent trends that the region is currently unable to sustain weekly racing throughout their season.

“Moving to three meetings per month will still provide sufficient racing opportunities for participants while driving an increase in field sizes back to sustainable levels for the industry,” Mr Hunter said.

“The additional two meetings following Cup Day minimises the reduction in overall race meetings to only three.”

“There will be minor changes to existing fixtures at other Race Clubs throughout the State to ensure thoroughbred racing product from Western Australia will continue to be offered every Sunday.”

KBRC Chairman John Relph said that whilst we are obviously very disappointed in losing three meetings the board need to take a pragmatic view to the declining trend in horse numbers across the state.

“We will not race Good Friday this year as Easter falls close to our traditional ANZAC Day meeting but we fully expect Good Friday to be pencilled in for 2020 which is great news,” Mr Relph said.

”We have worked closely with RWWA to get the best possible outcome for the KBRC and are consoled by the fact that all clubs in WA are in the same boat, we must work together collectively to get through this current impasse.”

“The KBRC compares favourably to other Provincial A clubs such as Bunbury and Northam and by extending our season to November 1, ensures there is sufficient racing for our local trainers, owners and race goers and ties in nicely with the start of the Esperance season.”

A full list of race dates for the 2019 Kalgoorlie season is provided below:

  • Saturday, 30 March 2019
  • Saturday, 13 April 2019
  • Thursday, 25 April 2019
  • Saturday, 4 May 2019
  • Sunday, 19 May 2019
  • Sunday, 26 May 2019
  • Sunday, 9 June 2019
  • Sunday, 16 June 2019
  • Sunday, 30 June 2019
  • Sunday, 7 July 2019
  • Sunday, 21 July 2019
  • Sunday, 28 July 2019 Magic Millions
  • Sunday, 11 August 2019
  • Sunday, 18 August 2019
  • Sunday, 25 August 2019
  • Sunday, 8 September 2019 Coolgardie Cup
  • Sunday, 22 September 2019 Boulder Kambalda Cups
  • Wednesday, 2 October 2019 Hannans Handicap
  • Saturday, 5 October 2019 Kalgoorlie Cup
  • Thursday, 17 October 2019
  • Friday, 1 November 2019