WA Racing Update – 3 April 2020
Restrictions on Outer Provincial Nominations for Thoroughbreds
Racing and Wagering Western Australia (RWWA) advises that a further measure will be introduced to reduce regional travel within the State’s racing industry.
All thoroughbred race meetings held on or after Monday 13 April 2020, at Albany, Geraldton and Kalgoorlie will be restricted to only horses located within their respective development commission regions:
 Albany – Great Southern Region
 Geraldton – Midwest Region
 Kalgoorlie – Goldfields-Esperance Region
The horse population within these regions is expected to be sufficient to support the race meetings, with a majority of horses nominated already stabled within these areas. With the remaining race meetings being consolidated to only the Perth/Peel and South West regions, adequate racing opportunities are still available for this class of horse outside of the Albany, Geraldton and Kalgoorlie areas.
It is acknowledged that thoroughbred race meetings are currently not being scheduled within the Wheatbelt and trainers within that region will have the ability to elect one of the above three adjacent regions to continue to race within.
Nominations for all race meetings conducted at the primary venues of Ascot, Bunbury and Pinjarra Park will remain open to all horses.
The restriction on horses nominated for these race meetings is consistent with the State Government’s direction to strictly control intrastate travel within the State.
On 24 March 2020, RWWA announced in order to protect the wellbeing of industry participants and the wider community, race meetings would be transferred to only 11 venues across the three codes. For information regarding this update, please click here.
Restriction on Eligibility for Barrier Trials
To reduce the number of persons attending barrier trials, Stewards, following consultation with the WA Racing Trainers Association, are introducing the following restriction on horses that may be nominated for all barrier trials conducted after 7 April 2020:
 Horses referred back to trials by Stewards;
 All unraced horses.
Nominations for any horses to trial who do not meet the above criteria will be rejected.
Jockey Segregation
Jockeys who are part of the ‘Blue Team’ are now permitted to ride at race meetings scheduled at Bunbury, with separate amenities being put in place.
Please be reminded the following restrictions apply for those jockeys who are part of the Blue Team, if a rider is identified as being in breach of these conditions it will be necessary to remove them from this group:
 Only allowed to ride at Ascot, Pinjarra and now Bunbury, and therefore will not be permitted to ride at Albany, Geraldton and Kalgoorlie.
 Must not interact with any jockeys outside of the blue team, including both on-course and off-course.
 Not permitted to ride any track work at racecourses, training centres and private facilities.
If a jockey from this group is named for a ride at any venues outside of Ascot, Bunbury or Pinjarra they will be removed. Jockeys who are included as part of the ‘Blue’ team include:  Joseph Azzopardi  Christopher Graham  Peter Hall  Paul Harvey  Ryan Hill  Clint Johnston-Porter  Shaun McGruddy  Jarrad Noske  Brad Parnham  Chris Parnham  Steven Parnham  Mitchell Pateman  William Pike  Jason Whiting
Emergency Care
Due to hospitals being considered high-risk areas for the spread of COVID-19, industry participants and essential personnel (including RWWA and club staff and officials) who attend an Emergency Department for assessment or admission, are directed to self-isolate from all WA racecourses, training facilities and trainer’s private properties for a 14 day period.
Persons failing to adhere to this Stewards directive may be penalised.
Further Information
For further information regarding bio-security measures for the WA racing industry in response to COVID-19, please visit the RWWA website, and listen in to TABradio at 7.50am daily.